Gordon College Graduation 2017

Sam Johnson with diploma

Sam with President Michael Lindsay

(Wenham MA) Today was Gordon’s 125th graduation.

No, I haven’t attended them all!

I have been covering the Gordon men’s basketball team since 2002 in the Writing Scots blog.

I have seen plenty of games but also along the way have gotten to know the families that are connected to the players.  Going to graduation provides one last opportunity for my wife (Julie) and me to meet with the graduates and their families.

Great weather today for the outdoor event; temps in the upper 60’s with plenty of sunshine.

Sam Johnson was the lone graduate on the 2016-17 team.

I took a picture of Sam with the Gordon coaching staff.  I was surprised that they weren’t sobbing over the loss of Sam from the team!

Sam finds the camera

Sam was a consistent, high-energy, stat-producing player and was a key to the GC successes in his 3 ½ years with the Scots.

We wish him well.

My wife and I always find folks at graduation from the faculty and staff that we know from our previous connections there.

One disappointment was the discontinuance of the breakfast gathering of alumni classes before the graduation.  Those gatherings annually produced people that we hadn’t seen in years.

(All of the pictures above and below will enlarge considerably if you click on them.)

Sam with parents

Sara Sampong and Noah Szilagyi

junior teacher-of-the-year

Dominic Paradis

Herman Smith and Michael Lindsay

Class of 2037?

Bagpipers lead

David, Jennifer, Julie

Julie, Don, Laura

Julie and Ivy

Dale and Julie

Julie and Val

David and Julie

Julie and Paul

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Gordon men's basketball 2016-17

Comments are closed.